Benefits

Can I reopen a Colorado workers’ comp case that has been closed for several years?

by Patrick Spencer February 10, 2015
Can I reopen my Colorado workers' comp case?

You MIGHT be able to reopen your workers’ comp case, or at least part of the case. I recently received a question from a reader about reopening his case. My answer assumes that this case was closed by a Final Admission of Liability. In Colorado, it really depends on when the insurance company last paid benefits on […]

Share
Read the full article →

Is travel for workers’ comp. medical treatment covered in Colorado?

by Patrick Spencer February 28, 2014
Travel reimbursement receipts for your workers' comp. claim

Q: I’m having knee surgery done in Vail CO. I live in Silt, CO (81 miles away). My doctor is requiring me to stay in Vail for a minimum of 5 nights so they may monitor progress and follow their physical therapy routine. That leaves me with $1000 lodging expense plus meals. I’m hoping I don’t get stuck with the […]

Share
Read the full article →

Are there limits on my Colorado workers’ compensation benefits?

by Patrick Spencer February 3, 2011
Thumbnail image for Are there limits on my Colorado workers’ compensation benefits?

Colorado statutes determine what benefits you will be entitled to in your Workers’ Compensation claim. Those benefits can have limits, otherwise known as “caps.” Some cash benefits have caps When you’re injured at work, you may be entitled to medical and cash benefits. But the law limits the amount of cash benefits you can receive. TTD […]

Share
Read the full article →

How to get medical care on your Colorado workers’ comp. claim when you move out of state

by Patrick Spencer October 4, 2010
Out of state medical treatment for Colorado case

If you live in another state, and you have a Colorado claim, you may  still need medical care. While it can be more difficult to obtain medical treatment and benefits when you are in another state, with some careful planning, it can be done.  Either you, or your attorney, should do the following : 1. Notify your […]

Share
Read the full article →

When should I report an injury that happened at work?

by Patrick Spencer September 27, 2010
Thumbnail image for When should I report an injury that happened at work?

In Colorado, the law requires you to notify your employer of an injury within four days. And you must notify them in writing. Some things to keep in mind: If you don’t report an injury within the four-day period, a judge can reduce some of your benefits. The statute of limitations for most claims in Colorado is […]

Share
Read the full article →